Inconvenient facts

This bothers me. I was very behind increasing preventative care to decrease health care costs. I’m sure that implemented carefully it can have some impact, but it isn’t the broad solution I first hoped it would be. I’d like to make two points about that.

First, the general point. It’s important to go beyond thinking about solutions. Preventative care as a cost control measure made sense to me. It turns out that my assumptions were wrong. It’s especially easy in economics to justify incorrect positions, not only because it’s so complicated, but because there are no pure experiments.

Second, looking at cost controls in healthcare from the perspective of evidence is frightening. Preventative measures are not a solution. Competition has proven extremely ineffective. The only form of cost control that has any actual evidence behind it is government control, and it is the one that America will not consider.

What do you think?

